INCLUDED FOR MEDIA: Media Alert, Permission to reprint all copy & photos on this event website, Contact Info



Media Contact: Alex Kajitani, CA Teacher of the Year

(858) 336-8678,


One-of-a-Kind “Teacher of the Year Leadership Summit” at San Diego State University (SDSU) 

National Leadership Experts, State/Local/National Teachers of the Year Gather at SDSU to Talk Teacher-Leadership

EVENT:                     Teacher of the Year Leadership Summit

DATE/TIME:              Mon., MAY 18, 2015, 8 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. 

LOCATION:                San Diego State University, Goodall Alumni Center

SPEAKERS:                Sandra McBrayer, National Teacher of the Year & Global Child/Family Advocate; Steve Farber, International Leadership Expert & Best-Selling Author; Alex Kajitani, California Teacher of the Year (author/event host); Genein Letford, Bravo Arts Educator & Great American Teacher Award Winner; Kim Tredick, Milken Educator Award Winner & Cutting-Edge Principal; Martin Reisert, California Teacher of the Year; Scott Bedley, Orange County Teacher of the Year & Host, "The Bedley Brothers Show"

PARTICIPANTS:         Teachers of the Year from California schools, districts and counties (more than 10,000 Teacher of the Year awards are given in California K-12 public schools each year), unions & professional organizations

HOST:                         California Teacher of the Year Alex Kajitani

ORGANIZATIONAL SPONSORS:    San Diego State University School of Education, National Network of State Teachers of the Year (NNSTOY)

CORPORATE SPONSORS: Quantum Learning, Renaissance Learning, Teaching English Materials, Five Elements Consulting


DESCRIPTION:           One-of-a-kind, full-day professional development event for Teachers of the Year by Teachers of the Year, sponsored by SDSU School of Education and NNSTOY.  Designed to build outside-the-classroom leadership skills in recognized teacher-leaders to help elevate education in schools and communities in Southern California and beyond.  Speakers include a National Teacher of the Year and two California Teachers of the Year.